Saturday, October 2, 2010

Lanakila winning team

This is a photo of members of the Lanakila Outrigger Canoe Club receiving their first-place award for the U.S. Outrigger Championships from Ralph Morrow Jr., former mayor of Avalon and a cancer survivor.

"I was the grand marshal in 2005. I have been their official Avalon cheerleader for many years … since 1994," he said. "I enjoy being around these folks; they keep me young."

The paddlers raised almost $10,000 for the Sarcoma Alliance this year. (Here's the donation page.) Please see the Sept. 11 post for more information.

The team captain is Aimee Spector, with members: Katy Arnold, Jeane Barrett, Kate Eveleigh, Lise Fernow, Jean Geddes, Alice Haas, Dani Hart, Jessie Kennedy, Kim Lanie, Maki Myazaki, Tanya Muhle, Laurie Parker, Jill Schooler, Heather Suskin, Dawn Suskin, Lorie Vos and Lisa Wilson.

No comments: